Skip to main content
Dec 10, 2020

The Kidney Foundation Celebrates Its Volunteers

We are pleased to announce the recipients of our 2020 Volunteer Awards. Award winners were lauded during a virtual celebration December 5, which marks International Volunteer Day annually.

“Volunteers are the lifeblood of The Kidney Foundation and make our work possible,” said Elizabeth Myles, National Executive Director. “Their commitment, enthusiasm, passion and creativity drive our success. Volunteers do it all; they engage as advocates and fundraisers, and they contribute to the kidney community at large through such things as organ donation awareness initiatives and contributions to our boards and working groups. We are tremendously grateful for this amazing team of supporters.”

Congratulations to the following individual volunteers, organizations and groups (listed alphabetically):
  • David Ayres: National Fund Development Award
  • Diane Duperron: David Ornstein Distinguished Service Award
  • Eastern Health Kidney Care Centre Dialysis Team: Mary Lou Karley Patient Services Award
  • Campbell Feehan: National Fund Development Award
  • Donald & Ruby Gaudet: David Ornstein Distinguished Service Award
  • Elizabeth Giacinti: David Ornstein Distinguished Service Award
  • Dr. Jag Gill: Organ Donation & Transplantation Award
  • Dr. Christopher Kennedy: Dr. John B. Dossetor Research Award
  • Members of The Kidney Foundation National Programs & Public Policy Committee: François-René Dussault, Peggy Gillespie, Michelle Jensen, Dr. Joanne Kappel (chair), Dr. Scott Klarenbach, Corrine MacNab, June Martin, Lori Wazny: Mary Lou Karley Patient Services Award
  • The Honourable Stephen McNeil, Premier, Nova Scotia: Organ Donation & Transplantation Award
  • Greg Robbins: Harold W. Ashenmil Award
  • Stingray: Public Awareness Award
A number of our employees were also honoured with the following recognition during a virtual celebration December 4:
  • Antoine Ardiley, Suzanna D’Aprile, Louise Dalpé, Louise Deguire, Manuel Escoto, Mélissa Fontil, Paul St. Germain, Michelle Hofer, Wendy Kudeba, Suzanne Laniel, Lydia Lauder, Christine Marquis, Janice Melanson, Valerie Nombo, Heather Reid, Trish Reynolds, Ed Saunders, Ashley Tobin, Deborah Tucker: Circle of Excellence Award
  • Marianne Palumbo: Special Appreciation Award
  • Pia Schindler: Bresinger Award of Excellence
  • Wendy Kudeba: The National President’s Award 

Please note you are viewing content from another region. The information provided here may not be available in your area.