Skip to main content

2023 Awardees

(Bios, lay abstracts and photos will be available soon.)

KRESCENT New Investigator Award

Tyrone Harrison

The University of Calgary, AB
2023 - 2026:  $210,000
Infrastructure:  $25,000
Project Title:  Improving perioperative risk prediction for people with kidney disease
Category:  Chronic Kidney Disease
In partnership with Can-SOLVE CKD

Ping Liu

The University of Calgary, AB
2023 - 2026:  $195,000
Infrastructure:  $25,000
Project Title:  Promoting shared decision-making for people with advanced CKD
Category:  Chronic Kidney Disease

Thomas Mavrakanas

The Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre, QC
2023 - 2026:  Curriculum only
Infrastructure:  $25,000
Project Title:  Novel therapeutic strategies in cardiorenal medicine
Category:  Chronic Kidney Disease

KRESCENT Post-Doctoral Fellowship

Kyle Medak

Supervisor(s):  Daniel Drucker
Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute, Mount Sinai Hospital, ON
2023 - 2026:  $165,000 (additional external support)
Project Title:  Role of the vascular smooth muscle GLP-1 receptor in renoprotection
Category:  Diabetes

Christie Rampersad

Supervisor(s):  Joseph Kim
University Health Network, ON
2023 - 2026:  $195,000
Project Title:  Better Decisions for Better Outcomes from Deceased Donor Kidneys
Category:  Transplantation

KRESCENT Allied Health Kidney Doctoral Award

Reetinder Kaur

Supervisor(s):  Jagbir Gill, Fuchsia Howard
University of British Columbia, BC
2023 - 2026:  $105,000
Project Title:  Factors influencing a woman’s decision to become a living kidney donor: How to mitigate potential coercion
Category:  Organ Donation

Victoria Riehl-Tonn

Supervisor(s):  Sofia Ahmed
The University of Calgary, Alberta
2023 - 2026:  $105,000
Project Title:  Sex and Gender Considerations in Patient Outcomes in Individuals Living with Chronic Kidney Disease
Category:  Chronic Kidney Disease

2022 Awardees

2021 Awardees

2020 Awardees

2019 Awardees

2018 Awardees

2017 Awardees

2016 Awardees

2015 Awardees

2014 Awardees

2013 Awardees

2012 Awardees

2011 Awardees

2010 Awardees

2009 Awardees

2008 Awardees

2007 Awardees

2006 Awardees

2005 Awardees